‘Dinnit Lose Yer Heed’

As part of our Work Based Learning module, we were given the option to choose one of two briefs –‘Caledonia Best Ale’ as set by Newhaven and ‘NHS Flu Jab’ as set by Leith.

Advertising_007

We travelled to Edinburgh and visited both agencies where we worked on each brief in a workshop environment receiving help and advice from industry professionals.

I found the flu jab campaign particularly difficult due to the restraints set by the brief. There were a lot of compulsories involved with regards to tone of voice, imagery and logo inclusion. I felt that it was quite difficult to be creative with so many limitations in place and as a result favoured the ‘Caledonia Best Ale’ campaign.

Photo_1

In our group we first set about exploring as many truths as possible surrounding the product and its manufacturers. These tanged from “served on draught” to “made with Scottish ingredients”. From roughly forty truths we were able to whittle them down to a select six. These six became the foundation of our campaign and we set about generating ideas.

Idea_development_1_copy
Idea_development_3

We produced several scamps, visuals and examples of copy before settling on one idea in particular and developing it further keeping in mind our target audience and the brief. I have focused on the copy as I feel I am currently at a stage where I am keen to explore copywriting and develop my copywriting skills further.

Being mainly copy based I decided to produce my final piece digitally for the first time. Previously I had drawn each submission to art director visual standard. By including digital software, my final idea has been fully realised. The colour and quality of the print bring the idea to life in a way that hand drawing wouldn’t. 

Dinnit_lose_yer_heed2

I am very happy with my final campaign for Caledonia Best Ale. I feel I have followed the brief well and communicate the relevant message to the relevant audience. The copy causes intrigue and encourages the reader to learn more: it makes people think. Upon learning more, the piece becomes quite humourous. It remains patriotic with obvious reference to Scotland’s history, but steers clear from being offensive or insulting. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

